Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Maldives


Time in Maldives:


Maldives At Glance

Welcome to the Maldives

The Maldives or Maldive Islands, officially the Republic of Maldives, is an island country consisting of a group of atolls stretching south of India's Lakshadweep islands between Minicoy Island and the Chagos Archipelago, and about seven hundred kilometres (435 mi) south-west of Sri Lanka in the Laccadive Sea of Indian Ocean.

Read More

Culture in Maldives

Maldivian culture is derived from a number of sources, the most important of which are its proximity to the shores of Sri Lanka and South India. The population is mainly Indo-Aryan from the anthropological point of view.

The language is from Indo-Iranian Sanskritic origin, which points at a later influence from the North of the Subcontinent. The Dhivehi language is closely related to Sinhala. According to the legends, the kingly dynasty that ruled the country in the past has its origin there.
Read More


The Maldives is a group of Atolls in the Indian Ocean with 1192 islands. They stretch for about 820 km from North to South, and are 130 km at the widest point. No island exceeds a length of 7.2 Km or an altitude of 3 meters above sea-level. Approximately 200 islands are inhabited; the rest includes the 87 tourist resorts and uninhabited islands, some of which are used for drying fish or agricultural activities. Male' the capital with a population of 75.000, is the seat of government and the centre of trade, commerce, business, health and education. Male' is located in the middle of the atoll chain.

The Climate is sub-tropical. Average rainfall is 2,183.9mm, with a humidity of 82%.


The Maldives is an archipelago of 1190 clustered islands stretching from North to South, about 500 miles from the Southern tip of India. The political map of the country is divided into 20 administrative units, known as Atolls.

As Islam spread to West Asia, Arabian influence culminated in the ruling monarch of Maldives embracing the Islamic faith in the mid twelfth century. The Maldives was declared a Sultanate following the conversion into Islam in 1153 AD, and the ruling monarch adopted the name of al Sultan Muhammad Ibn Abdullah Siri Bavana Adittiya Mahaa Radhun, popularly known as Dharumavantha Rasgefaanu.
Read More